Cattaraugus County Emergency Services banner

About Emergency Services

Cattaraugus County Office of Emergency Services

The four phases Emergency Management are mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.

Mitigation includes activities performed in order to reduce the loss of llife and property when disaster strikes.  During mitigation, efforts are made to avoid or lessen the impact of emergencies when they occur.  An example of mitigation is when a municipality aquires a property repeatedly impacted by flooding therefore removing the building and ability for mother nature to continue damaging porperty at a certain location.  Another example is improving or replacing culverts to better direct water away from homes or businesses.

Preparedness means being prepared for natural and man-made disasters such as tornado, flood, drought, blizzard, ice storm, earthquake, chemical spill and nuclear incident.  It includes a continuous cycle of planning, training, equipping, exercising, evaluating, and taking corrective action (mitigation) in an effort to ensure effective coordination during emergency response.

Response means responding in times of crisis and immediate actions taken to save lives, protect property, and meet basic human needs.  It also includes helping a community return to normal life after a disaster occurs.

Recovery is the development, coordination, and execution of restoration plans, the reconstitution of government operations and services, and connection of the public with private-sector or public assistance programs. Recovery also means to promote community restoration and additional measures for social, political, environmental, and economic restoration.  It is also critical to evaluate the incident to identify lessons learned and develope initiatives to mitigate the effects of future incidents.

It is important to learn the County's emergency warning signals, to learn how local government can help in an emergency, and most importantly to learn what you can do to protect yourself and your family.

The Cattaraugus County Office of Emergency Services works closely with the State Office of Emergency Management Office (SOEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), as well as all other Cattaraugus County agencies involved in the four phases of emergency management, including Fire Service, Emergency Medical Services, and the Local Emergency Planning Committee.

View Larger Map

Click on a warning area for information on the weather event occurring.  Map courtesy of the Natural Hazards Support System (NHSS) and ESRI.

Categorized under:

Register for the Household Hazardous Waste Disposal Day
view counter
May Is National Foster Care Month
view counter


303 Court St., Little Valley, NY 14755






8:30AM to 4:00PM

Monday-Friday except on Holidays

Need advice or a loan for a business?

Eating Right will make your Future Bright

Sell to the Government

Ready: Prepare. Plan. Stay Informed.