Caregiver Support Group Afternoon Meeting

Date(s): 
Repeats every month on the second Tuesday until Tue Dec 30 2014 .
Tue, 01/14/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 02/11/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 03/11/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 04/08/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 05/13/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 06/10/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 07/08/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 08/12/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 09/09/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 10/14/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 11/11/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm

It has been said there are only four kinds of people in the world: those who have been caregivers, those who are currently caregivers, those who will be caregivers, and those who will need caregivers.

A caregiver can be defined as a person who assists another with any of the following: bathing, housekeeping, grocery shopping, bill paying, organizing medications, providing transportation, providing day-to-day company, and/or giving any other assistance the care recipient may need.

While caregiving can be a very rewarding experience, it also places added stress on the caregiver’s life which can lead to burnout. Often this includes illness, fatigue, depression, anxiety, and an overall sense of not being able to continue on with life as it currently is.

It is important to reach out for help as you travel along the caregiving path. Caregivers Supporting Caregivers is a caregiver support group that is offered by the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging/NY Connects twice a month. An afternoon group is held every second Tuesday of the month from 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Department of the Aging.

Please note that an evening group is held every third Tuesday of the month from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at Eden Heights.

If you are a caregiver, please join us in supporting each other, sharing ideas, and developing new ways to handle everyday caregiver issues.

To register for Caregivers Supporting Caregivers, please contact Stacy Lockwood-Hall at the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging/NY Connects at 716-373-8032 or 800-462-2901.

Location

Cattaraugus County Building
1 Leo Moss Drive
Olean, NY 14760
United States
42° 5' 9.8736" N, 78° 26' 57.858" W
Javascript is required to view this map.

Dept./Office: Aging

Filed under:

feedback