Planning Logo

Municipal Support Services

Cattaraugus County has 32 towns, nine villages and two cities.  Many of these municipalities lack professional planning expertise to address issues such as economic development, zoning and land use, transportation, agricultural support, and community revitalization.  County planning staff provides technical assistance to municipalities, assisting their elected officials, planning and zoning boards, and municipal staff with planning-related issues.

Some of the issues we assist municipalities with are:

  • Comprehensive Planning
  • Community Revitalization Fund
  • Land Bank
  • Grant Assistance
  • Census Data and Demographics
  • Smart Growth
  • Complete Streets
  • Age Friendly Communities
  • Planning and Zoning Assistance for Municipalities

Some of the recent activities we have completed for our municipalities include:

Conservation Subdivisions - The County has developed a model conservation subdivision ordinance for local municipalities to use in conjunction with an existing subdivision ordinance or local law.

Saving Our Villages Initiative -The County Planning Division worked with select villages in the County to develop visions for their downtown areas, and demonstrated how downtown buildings can be revitalized with upper floor apartments.

Contact the Cattaraugus County Planning Department.

Categorized under:

          Contact Planning

          (716) 938-2369

          Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday except on holidays.


Eating Right will make your Future Bright

Sell to the Government

Ready: Prepare. Plan. Stay Informed.

Need advice or a loan for a business?

See the Mammoth Exhibit
view counter