Aging

The Department of Aging Provides or assures the provision of needed services to county residents who are age 60 or older.
Call us at 716-373-8032 or if outside the Olean and Salamanca calling areas please call 1-800-462-2901.
Monday - Friday Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Senior Nutrition Program Awarded $2,500 Grant from Subaru and MOWAA

News from Aging posted on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 11:06am

Cathy Mackay, director of the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging, is pleased to announce that their Senior Wellness and Nutrition (SWAN) program was recently awarded a $2,500 grant from Subaru of America as part of Subaru’s “Share the Love” event.

NYS Legislature Proposes Increased Funding for At-Home Programs for Seniors

News from Aging posted on Fri, 03/21/2014 - 3:14pm

Every day, seniors and their caregivers reach out to their local offices for the aging and community agencies for information, assistance, and services. Now they have a better chance of receiving those services, thanks to the New York State Legislature.

Falls Prevention Efforts in Cattaraugus County

News from Aging posted on Mon, 03/03/2014 - 2:09pm

Older adults across the U.S. are discovering that many falls are preventable, and if they take action to prevent falls, they can maintain their independence much longer. Moreover, falls prevention programs in many communities like ours are helping older adults to begin controlling falls risk by changing some daily habits and making simple modifications around the home.

Cook

Job Posting

General Unit

Department of Aging

1 Leo Moss Drive

Olean, NY 

This job was filed for Aging

Volunteer for Meals on Wheels

Summary: 
Most volunteers deliver 5-10 meals once a week and it takes about one hour (10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.) to complete a route.
Slide Image: 
Slide for Volunteer for Meals on Wheels
Filed in

Urgent need for Meals on Wheels Volunteers Countywide during Winter Months

News from Aging posted on Wed, 01/29/2014 - 11:48am
Maureen Richardson: Olean Meals on Wheels Volunteer

Maureen Richardson: Olean Meals on Wheels Volunteer

The Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging’s Senior Wellness and Nutrition (SWAN) program needs your help. During the winter months we have an increased need for people to deliver home meals and at the same time, our program has a smaller pool of volunteers to help.

Quarterly Birthday Party

News from Aging posted on Mon, 01/27/2014 - 11:49am

Do you need some relief from the cold and dark days of winter? If so, please join us at a senior nutrition site near you for the quarterly birthday party to be held on Thursday, January 30th. (The Little Valley location will hold their party on Friday, January 31.)

Free Tax Help available for Senior Citizens

News from Aging posted on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 4:47pm

For over 30 years, the Internal Revenue Service and AARP have sponsored the Tax Counseling for the Elderly program which provides free counseling and preparation of tax returns for senior citizens, and 2014 will be the 14th year of operation for the site in the village of Cattaraugus. The service will begin February 5 and will continue until the end of the tax season. The primary mission is to help those ages 50 and older, but no one is ever turned away because of age.

Two Monthly Caregiver Support Groups

News from Aging posted on Fri, 01/17/2014 - 5:52pm

It has been said there are only four kinds of people in the world: those who have been caregivers, those who are currently caregivers, those who will be caregivers, and those who will need caregivers.

A caregiver can be defined as a person who assists another with any of the following: bathing, housekeeping, grocery shopping, bill paying, organizing medications, providing transportation, providing day-to-day company, and/or giving any other assistance the care recipient may need.

Caregiver Support Group Evening Meeting

By: Aging

Date(s): 
Repeats every month on the third Tuesday until Tue Nov 17 2015 .
Tue, 01/21/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 02/18/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 03/18/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 04/15/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 05/20/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 06/17/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 07/15/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 08/19/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 09/16/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 10/21/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 11/18/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 12/16/2014 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 01/20/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 02/17/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 03/17/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 05/19/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 06/16/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 07/21/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 08/18/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 09/15/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 10/20/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tue, 11/17/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

It has been said there are only four kinds of people in the world: those who have been caregivers, those who are currently caregivers, those who will be caregivers, and those who will need caregivers.

It is important to reach out for help as you travel along the caregiving path. Caregivers Supporting Caregivers is a caregiver support group that is offered by the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging/NY Connects twice a month. Read more

Syndicate content
feedback