2017 Academy Graduation Announcement

News from Sheriff's Office, Posted on Fri, 06/16/2017 - 2:53pm

Left to Right: Cpt. Jordan Haines, Deputy Richard Love, Brandon Snyder, Richard Love II, Brandon Groth, Matthew Yanda, Zachary Petrichko, Deputy David Schuman, Lt. Melanie Churakos

Sheriff Timothy S. Whitcomb and the members of the Cattaraugus County Sheriff's Office would like to congratulate the 62nd Session of the Chautauqua County Sheriff's Academy upon their graduation from the basic course for police officers. Five Cattaraugus County residents completed the Basic Course for Police Officers academy training, which began in August 2016 and concluded June 15, 2017 at graduation. The cadets studied topics such as emergency vehicle operation, weapons qualifications, counterterrorism, mental health, penal law, vehicle and traffic law, defensive tactics, Spanish language for law enforcement, first aid/cpr/aed, report writing, physical fitness, and motor vehicle accident investigations, just to name a few. 

The cadets are now certified to work as a police officer / deputy sheriff for any local or county law enforcement agency in the State of New York. The cadets also receive college credit from Jamestown Community College for their achievements, due to the strong working relationship between JCC and the Sheriff's Offices of Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany Counties. The graduates from Cattaraugus County are: 

Brandon Groth from Portville

Richard Love II from Franklinville (Top Shooter Award)

Zachary Petrichko from Salamanca

Brandon Snyder from Olean

Matthew Yanda from Olean  

News from Sheriff's Office

Filed under: