Reminder: Burn Ban in Effect March 16 - May 14
Reminder of the annual, New York state-wide burn ban from March 16 - May 14
Since 2009, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has enforced this annual burn ban to reduce the number of wildfires and their subsequent damage. During this time period, all residential burning of brush is prohibited. Over the past 9 years, due to this regulation, wildfires have decreased across the state by more than 40 percent. Even with the decrease, any wildfire is life and property-threatening and can be avoided. Those that violate the state's burn ban are subject to both criminal and civil enforcement actions, and minimum fines for a first offense start at $500. To report burn ban or any environmental law violations call 1-800-TIPP DEC (1-800-847-7332), or report online on DEC's website, www.dec.ny.gov/regulations/67751.html. Questions may be directed to our local DEC office in Allegany by calling (716) 372-0645.
Additional information can be found online at the DEC website at http://www.dec.ny.gov or shared by Cattaraugus County Office of Emergency Services via social media (Facebook @CattCoPrepared and @CattCoOES).