Yearly burn ban in New York State begins on March 16 and end on May 14.
Since 2009, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has enforced this annual burn ban to reduce the number of wildfires and their subsequent damage. During this time period, all residential burning of brush is prohibited. Over the past 9 years, due to this regulation, wildfires have decreased across the state by more than 40 percent. Even with the decrease, any wildfire is life and property-threatening and can be avoided.
Open Burn Ban Public Service Announcement
- Campfires less than 3 feet in height and 4 feet in length, width or diameter are allowed.
- Small cooking fires are allowed.
- Fires cannot be left unattended and must be fully extinguished.
- Only charcoal or clean, untreated or unpainted wood can be burned.
- Ceremonial or celebratory bonfires are allowed.
- Burning trash is prohibited statewide in all cases.
- DEC recommends that you recycle all appropriate materials (such as newspaper, paper, glass and plastic) and compost your organic kitchen and garden waste. Learn about recycling and transfer stations in Cattaraugus County.
- Burning leaves also is banned in New York State. Please compost leaves.
- Disposal of flags or religious items in a small-sized fire is allowed if it is not otherwise prohibited by law or regulation.
Learn more about Open Burning in New York State on the DEC's website.