Department Personnel



Kathleen M. Ellis, Commissioner:
The Commissioner is responsible for the overall operation of the Public Works Department and the maintenance of the 395 miles of road, 265 bridges, 258 culverts, and 1,530 drainage structures under the county's jurisdiction. This also includes oversight of the following divisions: Highway, Fleet, Refuse, Buildings and Grounds, and the Onoville Marina.

Email: KMEllis [at] cattco [dot] org


Devin M. Blue, Deputy Commissioner:  
The Deputy Commissioner is responsible for overseeing the department's budget, including preparation, financial planning, and tracking budget performance. This person also performs a variety of managerial and project management activities for the department.

Email: DMBlue [at] cattco [dot] org


Dawn Smith: Procurement Specialist:
Dawn sends the specifications to companies and after the opening of the bids or proposals, she reviews them with the appropriate department heads and then makes recommendations to the DPW Committee and Legislators.

Email: DASmith [at] cattco [dot] org


Mark Burr, P.E.: 
Mark is in charge of the Engineering and Highway Divisions for Cattaraugus County. He is primarily in charge of the county's infrastructure improvement program and oversees the department's maintenance program.

Email:  MCBurr [at] cattco [dot] org

William A. Fox, P.E.: 
Bill's primary responsibilities include administrating the federal aid capital projects and performing in-house designs for county funded projects.

Email: WAFox [at] cattco [dot] org

Bill Marsfelder:  Operations Manager:
In this position, Bill is responsible for overseeing road repair and maintenance activities among DPW's six highway barns. DPW highway facilities are strategically located throughout the County to provide the best service possible.

Email:  WJMarsfelder [at] cattco [dot] org

Fleet Maintenance:

Jeff Harrison: Fleet Maintenance Supervisor 
Duties include supervising the maintenance and repairs of a variety of automotive and mechanical equipment for all county departments.  Administers fleet management operations.  Makes recommendations on vehicle replacement and purchases.

Email:  jtharrison [at] cattco [dot] org



Linda McAndrew: Waste Management Coordinator
Linda is responsible for the overall daily operation of the solid waste division of the DPW.  This involves the operation of 8 transfer stations located throughout the county, overseeing trucking and disposal operations and special projects such as hazardous waste programs and permitting of refuse vehicles. 

Email:  LBMcandrew [at] cattco [dot] org

Buildings & Grounds:

Brian Bingerman - Maintenance Supervisor 
(Western Areas):
Responsibilities include overseeing the maintenance and repair of county facilities and grounds, west of route 219, and to maintain efficient and economical operation.

Garth Johnston - Maintenance Supervisor 
(Eastern Areas): 
Responsible for the maintenance and repair of DPW facilities, east of Route 219.

email: GPJohnston [at] cattco [dot] org

Onoville Marina:

Jim Welch: Recreation Manager
Oversees the maintenance operation and development of the Onoville Marina Park facility, located on the Allegheny Reservoir, in the town of South Valley.

Categorized under: