Deeds are recorded in the Clerk's Office to convey interest in property from one party to another.
**NOTE: As of March 13, 2020 there is a $10 increase to the cost of recording deeds for residential property in New York State. This increase allows for the notification of grantors that a transaction has taken place that affects their ownership of real property, as per an amendment to Section 291 of the Real Property Law. This increase will NOT apply to commercial or agricultural property.**
Documents required to transfer property:
A deed must be original and must have both the Grantor's and Grantee's name & physical address, a legal description of the property, and the Grantor's notarized signature. It must be accompanied by a TP584, an RP5217 and -- sometimes -- an IT 2663.
NOTE: As per local law, if the property is in the cities of Olean or Salamanca, the deed must be counter-signed in those city clerk's offices before being recorded in the County Clerk's office. For more information, contact the Olean City Clerk at 716-376-5631 or the Salamanca City Clerk at 716-945-4620.
TP584 Tax Affidavit
View/Download a blank TP584 form.
View/Download instructions on how to complete TP584.
Learn about form RP-5217, a Real Property Transfer Report on the NYS Dept. of Taxation and Finance.
View/Download a blank RP-5217 form
View instructions on how to complete RP-5217 (from NYS Dept. of Taxation and Finance)
IT2663 [Only if seller is NOT a New York State resident]
View/Download a blank IT2663 form.
In the case of multiple sellers, an IT2663 is required for each individual unless they are husband & wife.
Recording [Make checks payable to Cattaraugus County Clerk Office]
The cost to record a deed is $50.25 for the first page and $5 for each additional page.
For property in the city of Olean or Salamanca, the cost is a flat $50.00 for the first page and $5 for each additional page.
The cost to record a TP584 is $5.00.
The cost to record a RP5217 is $125 if:
* One of the following boxes is checked: 7A, 7B, 7E, or BOTH 7G & 8. -OR-
* The Property Class Code from Item 18 is either 100-299 or 411C.
The cost to record a RP5217 is $250 if:
* None of the boxes indicated above is checked -AND-
* The Property Class Code is 300 or higher.
The transfer tax is $2 per $500, rounded up to the nearest even dollar amount.
** The county clerk's office cannot assist with the completion of documents. For assistance, please consult an attorney. **
*Please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of the original document.*
WARNING: Don't ever pay a third party for information about your property. Click here for more information.